Taking your time and Reinterpretation

Sometimes there are situations where you are rushed. You need to catch a train or a bus and you’re late and hurrying to make it.

This happened to me today. I was late to catch my bus (or so I thought) and then I looked at my ticket time and it was another time entirely. It was 15 min earlier than I thought and with that new time I would never make it. I stopped and rushed into the next solution without analyzing and reworking my timetable or schedule and without really checking the current time (in a different time zone than I was in yesterday).

In the end I bought a ticket on the train and as I was on the train leaving  and pulling out of the station I realized that due to my new time zone I was an hour earlier than I suspected and thus would have had plenty of time to catch my bus.

Moral of the story :”When things seem not to have gone the way you thought, look back before other action and see if there is a different way to perceive your outcome.”

If possible find a way of perceiving the situation that you like because it gives a meaningful meaning to something that otherwise would be disempowering.

 

Leave a comment